Essays in Medieval Studies, Volume 5

Mary Ann Klein

Online Editor
Allen J. Frantzen
Editorial Assistant
Christina M. Heckman


Essays in Medieval Studies: Proceedings of the Illinois Medieval Association (ISSN 1043-2213) is published annually by the Illinois Medieval Association and publishes only papers presented at that year's annual meeting.

For copies and subscription information, contact

Allen J. Frantzen
Executive Secretary, IMA
Department of English
Loyola University Chicago,
6525 North Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626.

Library of Congress Card Number: 88-647467.
Copyright 2000 by the Illinois Medieval Association.
Volume 5 copyright 1988 by the Illinois Medieval Association.

No portion of this material maybe reproduced by any means, mechanical or electronic, without permission of the Illinois Medieval Association and the author.

[Page numbers of the printed text appear at the right in bold.]

page v


The fifth annual meeting of the Illinois Medieval Association was held at Quincy College, in Quincy, Illinois, on February 21, 1988. Approximately seventy-five members attended the meeting. Officers present were: Richard E. Clement, President; Mary Ann Klein, Vice President; Robert Kindrick, Executive Secretary; Ruth Hamilton, Patricia Hollahan, Norman Hinton, Advisors. During the Saturday meeting, twenty-four papers were presented in eleven sessions. Preceded by a business meeting, Professor David C. Fowler delivered the keynote address, Piers Plowman: In Search of An Author. The meeting concluded with a performance of Ludus Paschalis by students of Quincy College under the direction of Dennis Schafer, O.F.M., and Hugh D. Fitzgerald.

Officers for 1988-89 are:

Richard E. Clement, Past President
Mary Ann Klein, President
Patticia Hollahan, Vice President
Robert L. Kindrick, Executive Secretary
John Friedman, Advisor
Ruth Hamilton, Advisor
Norman Hinton, Advisor


The fifth annual meeting and the publication of the fifth Volume of Essays in Medieval Studies were made possible by the generous support of Quincy College and a gift from the Stillwell Foundation. Special thanks is due the local arrangements committee at Quincy College: D. Mowbray Allan, Kenneth C. Conroy, John Joseph Lakers, O.F.M., and Joseph Messina. In appreciation of their advice, assistance, and support, this Volume is dedicated to the members of this committee.

Mary Ann Klein