Essays in Medieval Studies, Volume 6

John B. Friedman and Patricia Hollahan

Online Editor
Allen J. Frantzen
Editorial Assistant
Christina M. Heckman


Essays in Medieval Studies: Proceedings of the Illinois Medieval Association (ISSN 1043-2213) is published annually by the Illinois Medieval Association and publishes only papers presented at that year's annual meeting.

For copies and subscription information, contact

Allen J. Frantzen
Executive Secretary, IMA
Department of English
Loyola University Chicago,
6525 North Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626.

Library of Congress Card Number: 88-647467.
Copyright 2000 by the Illinois Medieval Association.
Volume 6 copyright 1990 by the Illinois Medieval Association.

No portion of this material maybe reproduced by any means, mechanical or electronic, without permission of the Illinois Medieval Association and the author.

[Page numbers of the printed text appear at the right in bold.]

page i


 The sixth annual meeting of the Illinois Medieval Association was held at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on February 25, 1989. Approximately seventy-five members attended. Officers present were Mary Ann Klein, President; Patricia Hollahan, Vice President; Robert L. Kindrick, Executive Secretary; and John B. Friedman and Norman Hinton, of the Advisory Board. The meeting opened with the plenary address, "Sacred Image and Illusion in Late Flemish Manuscripts," by Robert G. Calkins. Twenty-seven papers followed, in nine sessions. A business meeting was held after lunch. The meeting concluded with a reception at the World Heritage Museum.

    Officers for 1989-90 are:

Patricia Hollahan, President
Janet Marquardt-Cherry, Vice President
Robert L. Kindrick, Executive Secretary
Gregory Guzman, Advisor
Norman Hinton, Advisor
Thomas Hoberg, Advisor
John Simpson, Advisor
Mary Ann Klein, Past President

    The sixth annual meeting and the publication of the sixth Volume of Essays in Medieval Studies were made possible by the generous support of many departments and units of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Special thanks are due to the local arrangements committee--David Bright, Nona C. Flores, Anne D. Hedeman, Marianne Kalinke, Douglas Kibbee, Henry Maguire, Donald Queller, Janet Smart, Robert Wengert, and Charles D. Wright. Our greatest debt is to our designer, Karen Hendricks, whose skill and good sense have contributed beyond all measure to this project. This Volume is dedicated to her and to all who made it possible.

John B. Friedman
Patricia Hollahan