Essays in Medieval Studies, Volume 9

William Urban and Gregory Guzman

Online Editor
Allen J. Frantzen
Editorial Assistant
Christine Molinari


Essays in Medieval Studies: Proceedings of the Illinois Medieval Association (ISSN 1043-2213) is published annually by the Illinois Medieval Association and publishes only papers presented at that year's annual meeting.

For copies and subscription information, contact

Allen J. Frantzen
Executive Secretary, IMA
Department of English
Loyola University Chicago,
6525 North Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626.

Library of Congress Card Number: 88-647467.
Copyright 2000 by the Illinois Medieval Association.
Volume 9 copyright 1993 by the Illinois Medieval Association.

No portion of this material maybe reproduced by any means, mechanical or electronic, without permission of the Illinois Medieval Association and the author.

[Page numbers of the printed text appear at the right in bold.]

page i



Announcements and Acknowledgements


   The papers contained in this Volume represent a portion of those presented at the ninth annual meeting of the Illinois Medieval Association held Saturday, February 22, 1992, at Monmouth College, with William Urban as convener. At the the Illinois Medieval Luncheon-Business Meeting in the Highlander Room of the Stockdale Center, the following officers were elected or confirmed for the 1992-1993 year:

President: Gregory Guzman
Vice President: Allen J. Frantzen
Past President: Tom Hoberg
Secretary: Robert L. Kindrick
John Freed
Ruth Hamilton
William Urban

   Both the annual meeting and these Proceedings, which are the fruits thereof, would not have happened without the assistance and support of many members of the Monmouth College and Bradley University communities. We would like especially to thank President Bruce Haywood and Dean William Julian of Monmouth College; and President John R. Brazil and Dean Claire Etaugh of Bradley University. Financial support for the conference and the publication of these Proceedings was provided by Monmouth College and Bradley University.

   Special thanks is due to Pamela Marshall, Jennifer Applegate and Frances Stauffer for their work producing both those announcements that heralded our conference, and this work, which celebrates it, in a manner that does them proud.

William Urban
Gregory Guzman